Our Region

Galicia is a region located in the northwest of Spain, with the official

status of a nationality of Spain. There are four provinces in Galicia: A Coruña, Lugo, Ourense and Pontevedra. Near of 3 million people lives in Galicia, mainly in the coastal area, around the cities of A Coruña and Vigo, the two most populous cities. The capital is Santiago de Compostela, in the province of A Coruña. Santiago is the end of the Way of Saint James, a historical route of pilgrimage and communication of Culture from Medieval Age to the present. Two languages are official and widely used in Galicia, Spanish and Galician, a Romance language similar than Portuguese.

The cities of A Coruña and Ferrol are located in the northwest of Galicia. A Coruña (Corunna in English) is the second-largest city in the autonomous community of Galicia. A Coruña is the capital of the province of the same name. It is located on a promontory in the entrance of an estuary on the Atlantic Ocean and it host a very important port and an oil refinery. Although much of the heavy industry is based on the shipyards and metalworks of the neighbouring city of Ferrol, both cities are involved in a transition process to terciary sector from the 80s.
The most known monument of A Coruña is the Tower of Hércules. It is the most ancient Roman lighthouse still in use today, and it has been included on the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s